Days Until Our
2023 Conference!

Accelerating resiliency planning in communities across the Commonwealth


2022 Annual Meeting

2022 Resilient Virginia Annual Meeting

June 30, 2022 • Noon–4:00 PM

Virginia Department of Forestry’s Training Room
900 Natural Resources Drive • Ste 800
Charlottesville, VA 22903

Thanks for attending the June 30th for our 2022 Annual Meeting, our first hybrid meeting that brought together over 80 colleagues including state and local government and representatives from business, universities, and organizations from around the state.

We invite you to view the presentation on Resilient Virginia’s 2022 Board of Directors, our recent accomplishments and new programs.

Resilient Virginia’s 2022 Board of Directors & Recent Accomplishments

Previous slide
Next slide

Keynote Speakers Presentation

Previous slide
Next slide

Local Government Panel Presentation

Previous slide
Next slide

Special Guests

Mark Rupp, Georgetown Climate Center's Adaptation Program Director

Mark Rupp, Georgetown Climate Center’s Adaptation Program Director

Mark Rupp is Georgetown Climate Center’s Adaptation Program Director, leading the adaptation team, and providing strategic direction for its work in support of resilience, equity, and community-based solutions at the local, state, and federal levels.

Mark previously served as the Director of State-Federal Policy & Affairs at the Environmental Defense Fund (EDF). Prior to EDF, Mark held a distinguished career in public service, including positions as Deputy Associate Administrator for Intergovernmental Relations at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency; Health and Human Services Policy Advisor and Director, Washington D.C. Office to former Washington Governor Gregoire; and Legislative Counsel to U.S. Senator Cantwell as well as the Washington State Legislature.

Matt Dalon, VA DCR

Matt Dalon, Program Manager, Coastal Master Resiliency Plan,
Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation

Matt Dalon is the Program Manager for the Virginia Coastal Resilience Master Plan for the Department of Conservation and Recreation. Matt joined DCR in 2021 after 14 years of waterfront engineering and consulting in the private sector to manage the Virginia Coastal Resilience Master Plan contract that was led by Rear Admiral Ann Phillips (USN, Ret.), former Special Assistant to the Governor for Coastal Adaptation and Protection (SACAP). Matt is a Professional Engineer, Certified Floodplain Manager, and has degrees in Civil Engineering from Lehigh University and Ocean and Coastal Engineering from Oregon State University.

Local Government Panel

• Fairfax County •

Matthew Meyers, Fairfax County Division Manager for Climate Planning

Matthew Meyers, Division Manager for Climate Planning

Matt Meyers is a Division Manager with Fairfax County’s Office of Environmental and Energy Coordination, supporting the Community-wide Energy and Climate Action Plan and Resilient Fairfax, the county’s climate adaptation and resilience plan. He has over 30 years of experience including 20 years with the county’s Stormwater Management program leading a talented team monitoring the health of local streams, developing watershed management plans, responding to severe weather emergencies, and implementing ecological restoration and stormwater green infrastructure improvement projects. He has a master’s degree in Environmental Systems Engineering from Clemson University and an undergraduate degree in Environmental Resource Management from Penn State.
John Morrill, Fairfax County Division Manager for Innovation and Sustainability Office of Environmental and Energy Coordination

John Morrill, Division Manager for Innovation and Sustainability
Office of Environmental and Energy Coordination

John Morrill is a manager in the Office of Environmental and Energy Coordination at Fairfax County, helping guide policy and implementation of several initiatives including the Fairfax County Community Energy and Climate Action Plan. John joined County staff in 2020.

Prior to joining Fairfax, John was with Arlington County for 20 years, where he led a broad portfolio of work in energy management and policy. He began his career with the American Council for an Energy-Efficient Economy (ACEEE) in Washington DC. John is currently Chair of the Virginia Energy Efficiency Council.

• Albemarle County •

Gabe Dayley, Albemarle County Climate Protection Program Manager

Gabe Dayley, Climate Protection Program Manager

Gabe Dayley serves as Climate Protection Program Manager for the County of Albemarle, Virginia, where he is responsible for coordinating implementation of the County’s Climate Action Plan. This includes facilitating collaboration across local government, public schools, and community stakeholders to achieve reductions in greenhouse gas emissions while promoting local health, well-being, and prosperity. Gabe received a master’s degree in International Peace and Conflict Resolution from American University and a bachelor’s in International Relations from Pomona College. His graduate work focused on the application of conflict transformation to tackling environmental challenges.

• Town of Blacksburg •

Carol Davis, Town of Blacksburg Sustainability Manager

Carol Davis, Sustainability Manager

Carol Davis is the Sustainability Manager for the Town of Blacksburg, Virginia. In this role, she works on a broad range of sustainability issues, including: climate mitigation, adaptation, and resiliency planning; alternative transportation; land use policies that advance green building and affordable housing; local and state energy policy; aging-in-place; water quality; and stewardship of public lands. In her spare time, Ms. Davis enjoys volunteering with Habitat for Humanity, the Poverty Creek Trails Coalition, and the New River Valley Bike Kitchen. She currently serves on the boards of Sustainable Blacksburg, The New River Land Trust, the New River Valley Bike Kitchen.

Support this event with your sponsorship!

Your organization will receive recognition at the event, in social media and marketing promotions, as well as additional benefits.

Thanks to Our Event Sponsors!

Thanks to Our Annual Meeting Host!