Days Until Our
2023 Conference!

Accelerating resiliency planning in communities across the Commonwealth



National Speakers

Chris Castro – Chief of Staff/State & Community Energy Program, US DOE

Ned Gardiner – Engagement Manager, U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit, NOAA

Jesse Rozelle – Program Manager, NHRAP/Hazus, FEMA

Ryan Snow – Regional Director, U.S Market Transformation & Development, USGBC

Additional speakers from US EDA, US EPA, USDA

State Agency Speakers

Tom Ballou – Air Data Analysis Manager, VA DEQ

Chris Berg – Director of Sustainability, VDOT

Angela Conroy – Senior Planner, Air and Renewable Energy Division, VA DEQ

Carol Considine – Director of Applied Projects, Institute for Coastal Adaptation and Resilience, ODU

Stephanie Dalke – Program Manager, Water Resources and Climate Adaptation,  UMD Environmental Finance Center

Melanie Davenport – Director of Regulatory Affairs and Outreach, VA DEQ

Jonah Fogel – Program Manager, UVA Environmental Institute

Darryl Glover – Deputy Director, Dam Safety, Flood Preparedness, and Soil and Water Conservation, VA DCR

Laura Henry-Stone – Assoc. Professor of Environmental Sciences and Sustainability & Director of Sustainability, University of Lynchburg

Perry Hickman – State Director, USDA Rural Development, Virginia

Lara Johnson – Urban and Community Forestry Program Manager, VDOF

Jim Kinter – Director, Center for Ocean-Land-Atmosphere Studies, GMU

Alexander Krupp – Grants Administrator – Mitigation, VDEM

Ed Maibach – Director, Center for Climate Change Communication, GMU

Vince Maiden – Transportation Program Manager, VDOE

Karen McGlathery – Sherrell J. Aston Chaired Professor in Environmental Sciences, UVA Environmental Institute

Maria Mutuc, PE – Resilience Program Manager, VDOT

Majid Shafiee-Jood – Research Assistant Professor, Dept of Civil Engineering and Dept of Systems and Information Engineering, UVA

Lauren Stuhldreher – Economic Development Representative , EDA-VA

Tom Thompson – Associate Dean, CALS & Director, CALS Global, Virginia Tech

Chandler Vaughan – Broadband Policy Analyst, DHCD Office of Broadband

Stephen Versen – Business Manager, VEDP

Karin Warren – Department Chair, Environmental Studies, Randolph College

Jessica Whitehead – Joan P. Brock Endowed Executive Director, Institute for Coastal Adaptation and Resilience, ODU

Local Government Speakers

Gabe Dayley – Climate Protection Program Manager, Albemarle County

Allison Homer – Planner IV, Senior Community Specialist, Office of Environmental and Energy Coordination, Fairfax County

Emily Irvine – Climate Program Specialist, City of Charlottesville

Lewis Lawrence – Executive Director, Middle Peninsula Planning District Commission

Laura Thomas – Director of the Office of Sustainability, City of Richmond

Toni Utterback – Stormwater Engineering Center Administrator, City of Virginia Beach

Business Speakers

Bill Bohn – Principal, Community Resilience Consulting

Matt Erchul – Managing Director, Witt O’Brien’s

Christina Hurley – Senior Hazard Mitigation Planner, Stantec

Kirsten McGregor – Founder and Principal, Sagax

Speaker Pollard – Partner, Williams Mullen

David Robinson – Co-Founder, Earthwork Collective

JaLeesa Tate – Senior Community Resilience Professional, Tetra Tech

Charlie Westbrook – Client Solutions Manager, RES

Nonprofit Speakers

Paul Battaglia – Executive Director, American Institute of Architects – Virginia

Jenny Brennan – Science and Policy Analyst, SELC

Pat Calvert – Director of Clean Water and Land Conservation Programs, Virginia Conservation Network

Michael Carter Jr – Owner, Carter Farms

John Cawley – Regional Environmental Lead, SERCAP

Robert Christopher – Environmental Planner, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments

Lauren Doran – Community Landscape Planner, Green Infrastructure Center

Krista Romita Grocholski – Physical Scientist, RAND Corporation

Alleyn Harned – Executive Director, Virginia Clean Cities

Garry Harris – President, Center for Sustainable Communities

Troy Hartley – Director, Virginia Sea Grants Program

Naomi Jones – Director, Jones Garden

Ashish Kapoor – Senior Energy and Climate Policy Analyst, PEC

Leslie King – Owner, Leslie King Consulting

Joe Lerch – Policy Director, VACO

Delaney Luna – Senior Economic Development Associate, International Economic Development Council

Annette Osso – Managing Director, Resilient Virginia

Paul Robinson – Executive Director, RISE Resilience Solutions

Josh Rodriguez – Program Director for Environment, AASHTO

Sabine Rogers – Strategic Partnership Coordinator, Virginia Sea Grants Program

Jim Schulman – Executive Director, Alliance for Regional Cooperations

Cathy Stripling – Sustainability Program Director, Community Housing Partners

Margaret Walls – Senior Fellow, Resources for the Future


Questions? Contact Us

For information on Sponsor Opportunities, please contact:

Annette Osso, LEED AP, Managing Director

For information on the Planning Committee, please contact:

Trish Porter, Communications Director